The CLEAN Blog


I’ve decided to start writing about my journey getting my next feature film, CLEAN, made. I will try to add to this story as new events unfold. It may be a bit slow at first, but hopefully as things begin to come together, I’ll have more to share. 

The story so far…

My production company, Off Leash Films, has teamed with British Production Company, Lock & Loru Productions, headed by producer Amyra Bunyard. At the moment, we are sending the script out to talent and raising finances at the same time. We plan to shoot in England with a largely British cast. We are also looking into other various locations that offer tax incentives, etc. 

I am both the writer and director on the film and the script is loosely based on a story idea by myself and Teal Minton. CLEAN will be produced independently and I will be maintaining full creative control throughout to ensure the film we make is the one released. Those familiar with my first feature, THE PLAGUE, will understand.

CLEAN is a psychological thriller dealing with personal, cultural and social identity. It is a series of complex, interconnected stories that move back and forth in time while building steadily toward its climax. I have been told that it’s MEMENTO meets MAGNOLIA (for those in need of a more commercial description). And though I call CLEAN a psychological thriller, I believe that it encompasses many genres and cannot be easily categorized (much like the Writers & Director’s Cut of THE PLAGUE is not really a horror film as most people think of horror today, yet it’s the closest genre description one can apply). 

As our filmmaking journey continues, so will these posts. Please stop by and see how we’re doing. I intend to speak openly and honestly as to the events that unfold so that both fans and other filmmakers will have a good idea of what it takes to get a film made and what can happen along the way. 

Glad to have you with us!

Hal Masonberg

The CLEAN Blog

One thought on “The CLEAN Blog

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

