Craig Ferguson Figures Out Why Everything Sucks


I consider this post to be a companion piece to my post from earlier this week, DIY Plastic Surgery? WTF?

Craig Ferguson, as his cold-open for the Late Late Show on Tuesday night, discussed America and the world’s obsession with youth and the extremes they go to in order to obtain/maintain. While this pre-monologue is certainly partly amusing, it is also fairly serious and not far off the mark.

And while we’re at it, here’s another serious and extremely heartfelt monologue Ferguson gave in 2007 about Britney Spears, alcoholism and his own 15 years sober. It is quite personal and extremely unusual for a late night host. But this is one of the many reasons I enjoy Ferguson’s show and Ferguson himself. He’s easily the funniest guy on late night, but he is also the most sincere.

Craig Ferguson Figures Out Why Everything Sucks

5 thoughts on “Craig Ferguson Figures Out Why Everything Sucks

  1. Hal, this one definately hit home with me.
    I am 11 years sober.
    Also I’ve recently had a change of heart (and blogs) and I no longer will do politics and/or buy into any media hype at ANYBODY’s expense.

    Why does our society take people ‘on the edge’ and yell to the JUMP?
    Kinda long but I’m so glad I watched that.
    Thanks.

      1. halmasonberg says:

        You’re welcome. I was really effected by these, too. I’m still guilty of Palin bashing, but ONLY when she asks for it. It seems like her life may be in danger of crumbling under the weight of her own fame and many of the missteps she’s taken. And the fact that she was thrust into a situation that was over her head and she, herself, didn’t realize it. As it starts to just get sad, I will pull back as my intention is not to attack the human being, but the dangerous and misguided ideals she preaches.

  2. I stole this somewhere, not sure where it’s from.
    I Intend that I am refraining from buying into any media hype surrounding mass events, and that I am only envisioning positive outcomes for the Earth and her people.

Leave a Reply

