Hillary Clinton Is Not A Monster – And Why That Does Not Diminish The Challenges We Must Confront When She Is President


Clinton_Goldman_Blankfein_rtr_img

The questioning of Hillary Clinton and her political and financial ties via the Clinton Foundation and other sources is nothing new. This conversation and its concerns have been happening for some time (see Hillary Helps a Bank—and Then It Funnels Millions to the Clintons and The Problem With Hillary Clinton Isn’t Just Her Corporate Cash. It’s Her Corporate Worldview, both from 2015), It is not a plot to discredit Hillary. Nor is it a strategy to give Trump more votes. Or Jill Stein, or any other candidate. It is about questioning a political worldview that deserves scrutiny, attention and challenge. It is not about painting anyone as evil or a monster. I, personally, don’t believe in such things. What it is about is addressing our decisions as human beings trying to do right by ourselves and others and looking closely at the choices we make and the repercussions and effects of those choices.

I understand that many people are concerned about criticisms of Hillary. I don’t point them out because I want to see people not vote for her. I keep the conversation alive because I believe Hillary will be the next president of the United States and – though we’ll be spared a Trump presidency which is no small achievement – we will nonetheless have a president whose approach to politics is via a corporate worldview that became popular in the Reagan era and, via Bill Clinton, also became part of the Democratic political landscape.

I believe deeply that it is an immensely unstable and detrimental approach that desperately needs to change if we are to avoid the wars and military actions already in the making that I believe Hillary Clinton will likely lead us into. If we are to build a thriving middle class, offer Americans a genuine profit-free health care option, and – maybe most importantly and dire – tackle Climate Change in the precariously short window we have left.

As I stated above, Hillary is not a monster. She is not evil. I believe Hillary believes in what she is doing. I believe she believes it is good. Unfortunately, I don’t think Hillary has evolved quickly enough with the times. Not because she’s stupid or incapable, but because she has devoted her life to working within a political system that has ultimately turned out to be more destructive than constructive, despite intentions. The greatest challenge comes in not only being willing and able to recognize this, but to change one’s ways and the goals and approach one has set for themselves and to envision an entirely new approach to life and work and the choices and viewpoints one has represented throughout their career and lifetime. It is a profoundly complicated act and can be both personally and professionally devastating. But to not do so, in not making that leap of change, I believe Hillary will unwittingly not only keep us from moving forward, she will set us back in far too many ways that effect far too many lives. She’ll do some good, thank god – and in those things she has my support. But the direction she currently represents both economically and in her foreign policy I believe will be devastating for generations to come.

I’m not asking or suggesting anyone not vote for Hillary. I am asking people to be demanding. Support what you agree with. And openly don’t support and – even more importantly – fight to change what you believe may ultimately cause more harm than good. When challenge is presented, there is always pushback and resentment. It comes with the territory. Whether it comes from Hillary herself, her campaign, or her strongest advocates and supporters, the desire to paint those openly questioning Hillary’s politics as deserters or extremists is going to be irresistible for many. You will hear – like with the creation of the “Bernie Bros” narrative – many people working diligently to paint anyone on the left who openly questions Hillary’s political approach and history as being dangerous themselves. The negative and divisive narrative of the “Alt Left” has already begun. It is simultaneously a knee-jerk reaction and a calculated response.

It is without question that there is too much at stake to allow Donald Trump to become president. This cannot be stated more emphatically. But that does not diminish – or justify  – the challenges we face with a Hillary presidency.  The difference? Hillary’s not insane. She has the capacity to listen. But only if you give her something to listen to.

 

Hillary Clinton Is Not A Monster – And Why That Does Not Diminish The Challenges We Must Confront When She Is President

2 thoughts on “Hillary Clinton Is Not A Monster – And Why That Does Not Diminish The Challenges We Must Confront When She Is President

  1. KT says:

    I feel like your conclusions are ones that can only be valid if you have met her and spent some time with her. You’re basically saying she’s not a liar, but is sincere.

    I actually think that about George W Bush – I think he was sincere, but wasn’t very good at surrounding himself with useful people, and didn’t pick who he listened to very well.

    But I also know that’s just what I call an “impression opinion”. I know I can’t be positive on it without having met him.

    So what I believe of HClinton comes from people who did know her and spent a lot of time around her. Namely, former Secret Service people. I’ve seen accounts from 2 of them about her actions (and BClinton’s) while in the WH. Both were pictures of a profoundly arrogant woman who cared for nothing but whatever could get her what she wanted (including the fact that her husband was using the WH as a brothel).

    Of course I would prefer more data, but I still lean strongly towards personal experience (and neither of these people were “disgruntled employees”).

    Interestingly, my dad has met Trump in the course of his business (years ago), and while he didn’t like Trump (my dad also has an ego ;), he acknowledged he was a good businessman.

    We don’t have any real data on Trump as a politician, of course, so I use some different data points to make my decision.

    1. His success in business (failed vs active) – very good (because the majority of politicians that have started a business have failed)
    2. His employEE history (any employee complaints/suits, incl wrongful termination or sexual harassment, etc.) – very good
    3. The lives of his children – very VERY good (because most often I see politician’s children in DUI/Crack/Drug/Sex/business scandals)
    4. (and because of the Clinton history…) How many people around him over the years that have died in odd ways (incl suicide)
    5. International experience – very good

    Trump’s got definite character flaws, but they’re the personal type, not the business type. I think he’s going to have trouble working with existing politicians, and the fact that the President position isn’t the same as a business owner position, and I think he doesn’t always think before he speaks and can get petty. But I think his strengths will still be good for this country, and his weaknesses are in areas that won’t pertain to us as a whole. (Ok, unless he mouths off somewhere and starts a war, but I’m assuming he’ll see that as a bad business decision heh)

    1. halmasonberg says:

      I base my assessment of Hillary on benefit of the doubt. Not a particularly scientific method, nor one that guarantees any accuracy. My belief is that she more than likely has an immense ego and is stubborn (perhaps even to the point of delusion) in ways that make her less of a leader than a follower. I personally do not trust her. Not her instincts or her ability to be self-aware. That said, these beliefs or assumptions are no more “real” than my giving her the benefit of the doubt that she is sincere, however misguided I may see her. The truth probably lies somewhere in-between. My goal, however, is to reach liberals that want many of the same things I want, but who are caught in a personal battle between wanting a woman president (which I also long to see) and feeling that being a Democrat and seeing oneself as liberal automatically puts you in a position of being morally and socially beyond reproach. Or that because Hillary Clinton has, in many instances, been unfairly targeted – or targeted more than others – that all accusations brought against her must therefore be nefarious and false. I do believe she has been unfairly targeted in many instances. And I believe she has been called out for questionable behavior and practices others have not been called out for. But I believe they should be more than I believe she should NOT be. I believe more politicians acting in a manner similar to Hillary Clinton should be called out and confronted with equal vigor. I do not see politics as a team sport wherein I must choose my side and commit to it.

      All that said, I believe Trump is dangerous in ways you do not. My distrust of Hillary and her politics and where they will lead this country does not make Trump any less frightening or dangerous to me. I just think focusing only on Trump allows Liberals and Democrats to not see ourselves clearly in the picture and that is also very dangerous. At the very least, Trump will give all his domestic and foreign policy power to his VP, as he offered Kasich early on. For me, as someone who does not subscribe to conservative or Republican values as they stand today, I would find that to be incredibly damaging to our society and future. And that is the best-case scenario I see for him. Well, actually, the best case is that he calls out the absurdity of his own campaign and asks us to take a closer look at ourselves and how easily manipulated we all are when we are frightened and how easily and quickly we turn on one another. But I don’t see that happening. Trump’s worldview is one I actively oppose. What he incites I believe is massively destructive and sets us back greatly. I think that that includes a business worldview that is also in defiance of most of what I think actually allows America the genuine potential for greatness. I also do not think that Hillary Clinton is either the answer or the antithesis of Trump. She is not his opposite. I think he is the greater danger that allows her to focus attention away from her own deep flaws and inherent dangers. I think he is also what allows others to see her as a solution instead of part of a bigger problem. Both are extremely dangerous in my eyes. But I have more faith in those who support Hillary in being able to potentially see the bigger picture than those who support Trump. That doesn’t mean they will or that if they do they will act on it, but I believe the greater opportunity lies there. So it is they I address and reach out to in hope. I find no such hope or potential in the Trump camp. Which does not mean there is none. I just do not personally know how to address it.

Leave a Reply

